Colomba Amstutz and Alban Allegro

12th January - 10th February 2013

Since their chance encounter in Florence where they received their art training, Colomba Amstutz and Alban Allegro have recognised a thematic and formal closeness in their work which has joined them together both in life and in the studio.  Like two sides of the same mirror, their paintings speak to each other in a rich dialogue meeting at several levels while remaining unique and identifiable, independent yet linked to each other.  The exhibition offers an independent space to each of the two artists while underlining the many bonds which have been forged over their already long careers as artists.

Symbolic and sometimes enigmatic, Alban Allegro’s pictorial language guides the onlooker across a space-time universe close to myth, calm but powerful, which seems to draw its power from the depths of the human soul and the earth.  His medium- and large-format works can be interpreted as reflections from the depths of Plato’s cave, snatches of the verities which touch the most profound human awareness and existence, those of birth, life and death.  He borrows formal ancestral signs such as the boat, the cross, the deer, the eye as though he is anchoring himself in the flow which rises from origins, while changing them into a contemporary vision, perhaps to remind us that the fundamental dilemmas remain the same and that there is no real answer.  The medium and colours of painting are a major concern of the artist which he expresses by a voluptuous multiplication of layers to achieve compositions in which the various figures sink into unknown depths and reappear as insubstantial shadows echoing their suffering and fragility. 

Although the work of Colomba Amstutz offers a more unambiguous treatment of her subjects, it is no less powerful.  We find silhouettes of humans floating in a primordial aerial or aquatic environment.  As in a dream which exists before birth or which invades consciousness after death, these ethereal beings tell of the cycle of life, the creation and renewal of the world.  According to their different stances, the figures are both parts of the structure of the painting and keys to interpretation of the symbols.  Standing, lying, crouching they speak of relationships, stages of life, rebirth and death.  The space in which they seem to float, suggested by overlying transparent layers and by the juxtaposition of colours, does not refer to reality but rather to the passage of time, the idea we construct about history, legend, myth.  The choice of language, close to stylisation, transforms each element into a symbol whose significance must be translated from one work to another like clues left by the artist. /N.K. (translation: Liz Hopkins)

pictures

links

Colomba Amstutz et Alban Allegro

du 12 janvier au 10 février 2013

Depuis leur rencontre fortuite à Florence où ils ont fait leur formation en art, Colomba Amstutz et Alban Allegro ont reconnu dans les œuvres de l'autre une proximité thématique et formelle qui les a réunis à la vie et à l'atelier qu'ils partagent depuis. Comme les deux faces d'un même miroir, leurs peintures se répondent dans un dialogue riche de correspondances sur plusieurs niveaux, tout en restant uniques et identifiables, indépendantes et liées les unes aux autres. L'exposition offre à ces deux artistes leur espace autonome tout en soulignant les nombreux liens qui se sont tissés au cours de leurs déjà longues carrières d'artistes.

Symbolique et parfois énigmatique, le langage pictural d'Alban Allegro guide le spectateur à travers un univers aux dimensions spatiotemporelles proches du mythe, tranquille mais puissant, qui semble puiser sa force dans les tréfonds de la mémoire humaine et tellurique. Ses peintures de moyen et grand format pourraient se lire comme les reflets au fond de la caverne de Platon, bribes d'une vérité qui touche au plus profond de la conscience et condition humaine, celle de la naissance, de la vie et de la mort. Il emprunte des vocables formels ancestraux, tels que la barque, la croix, le cerf, l'œil, comme pour s'ancrer dans le flux qui remonte des origines tout en transformant ces éléments dans une vision contemporaine, afin de rappeler peut-être que les questions fondamentales demeurent inchangées et sans véritable réponse. La peinture en tant que matière et couleur constitue pour l'artiste une préoccupation majeure qu'il traduit par une volupté à multiplier les couches pour obtenir des compositions où les divers personnages s'enfoncent dans des profondeurs inconnues et réapparaissent telles des ombres dématérialisées, reflets de leur souffrance et fragilité.

Plus graphiques dans la manière d'aborder les sujet, les œuvres de Colomba Amstutz n'en sont pas moins puissantes. On y retrouve des personnages-silhouettes flottant dans un milieu aérien ou aquatique, primordial et originel. Comme dans un état de rêve préexistant à la naissance ou engloutissant la conscience après la mort, ces êtres éthérés racontent le cycle de vie, la création du monde et le renouvellement. Par leurs diverses positions, les personnages sont à la fois éléments constitutifs de la structure du tableau et clés interprétatives de la symbolique. Debout, prostrés, recroquevillés, allongés, ils parlent de relations, de stades de la vie, de renaissance et de mort. L'espace dans lequel ils semblent flotter, suggéré par des superpositions de couches transparentes et la juxtaposition de couleurs, ne fait pas référence à la perspective du réel, mais plutôt au temps qui passe, à l'idée qu'on se ferait de l'histoire, de la légende, du mythe. Le langage choisi, proche de la stylisation, transforme chaque composant en symbole dont la signification est à décrypter au fil des tableaux, comme autant d'indices laissés par l'artiste./N.K.

en images

liens

documents